MY NEW YEARS RESOLUTION REVOLUTION –WORLD VISION

 

Christmas 2012 Vertical (2) copyTHANK YOU FOR 2012

First of all, I want to thank you from the bottom of my heart for taking the time to read my Barbed Wire Halo Blog.  I want to thank you for continuously supporting both my career and my family.  And more than anything I want to thank you for your prayers and your friendship.  2012 was a year filled with blessings and I thank God everyday for blessing me with you!

NEW YEARS RESOLUTION 2013

News year’s resolutions are a funny thing… they are practically a joke at my house! I make em’ and I break em’ all in a weeks time.  Now I’m sure there are some folks out there that have legit resolutions with the greatest of intentions but more often than not these resolutions are simply just shallow superficial promises that make us feel warm and fuzzy on the inside for a brief and fleeting moment.

In a survey the New York Times discovered that 33% of New Year’s resolutions wont survive the month of January and over 80% of resolutions die within the months to follow.   Some of the most common resolutions are to eat less, exercise more, spend less, and make more money.  Don’t get me wrong I’m not saying that “penny pinching” or vowing to shed a few pounds by consuming less chocolate and soda is a bad thing but then again its not exactly “world changing” kind of stuff either.  Now don’t think for a second that I’m pointing the finger at you.  At the Watson house, thanks to a failed New Year’s resolution a few years back, we now have a room with a Bow-Flex weight machine and a treadmill that rarely do more than collect dust.  So this year when I started thinking about ways I wanted to improve “me”, I decided to not focus on “me” at all.  I decided to focus on something bigger…much, much bigger.

hole-in-our-gospel“The gospel means much more than a personal salvation of individuals.  It means a social revolution.” –Richard Stearns (President of World Vision)

Check out Richard’s book “The Hole in the Gospel.”  It was a HUGE eye opener for me!

worldvision3NEW YEARS REVOLUTION

So what if I told you that my resolution for 2013 was to change the world?  Would you laugh at me?  Don’t feel bad if you do, I laugh at myself occasionally and my wife laughs at me constantly!  Yes, I know it sounds cliché and crazy thinking that one person can really make a dent in this cold, cruel, hard-hearted world.  I mean, is it even possible that one person can really change the world?  Well, I believe that all depends on your perspective.  So what is your point of view?  Are you staring at this world from outer space, from the outside looking in, or are you staring at this world standing barefooted next to a shack in the middle of a poverty stricken village.  The thought of “changing the world” as a whole is overwhelming and intimidating.  The thought of changing somebody’s world is very realistic and achievable.  For example, if you were hungry and homeless and someone gave you food and shelter your world would be changed.   If your children were sick and dying and someone came and gave them medicine, nurturing them back to health, your world would be changed.  Can one person change the world?  Actually one person already did and He set the example for us to live by.  Spreading the love of Jesus Christ will change the world.

“Sometimes I would like to ask God why He allows poverty, suffering, and injustice when He could do something about it.” But I’m afraid He would then ask me the same question.” -Anonymous

564“Christ has no body on earth but yours, no hands but yours, no feet but yours.  Yours are the eyes through which Christ’s compassion for the world is to look out;  yours are the feet with which He is to go about doing good;  and yours are the hands with which He is to bless us now.” -SAINT TERESA OF AVILA

“Don’t fail to do something just because you can’t do everything” –Bob Pierce (founder of World Vision)

WORLD VISION

Gift Catalogue Photos 2007, Part 2In 2013, I vow to continue using my music to move mountains.  Not the kind of mountains made of earth and rock but the bigger ones.  The mountains known as hunger, homelessness, child trafficking, AIDS …all forms of poverty.   We will still remain active with our other non-profits but we will be adding the children of World Vision to the Watson family.  I’m praying that you will also consider adding the children of World Vision to your family as well.

midwives-1There are thousands of children who go to bed every night both hungry and scared.  They live in constant fear because they have no hope of ever being saved from the everyday horrors that they face.  Many will never have the chance to go to school.  Many will die of easily treated illnesses because there is no money for medicine.  The lives they live are unimaginable.  They need us to rise up.

world-vision-girl-with-goatWorld Vision is the largest Christian relief, development and child sponsorship organization in the world.  They are providing a better future to over a million children in almost 50 countries. For about a dollar a day, you can change the world for a child.  World Vision puts your dollar to work with those of other sponsors and targets the most critical needs in your sponsored child’s community. In some places it means providing better food through agricultural training or ensuring that kids have an education by building schools and distributing supplies.  In other places it might be constructing houses, building clinics or drilling wells.  World Vision staff partners closely with every community to determine the best solutions for making sure a child grows up healthy and happy.

Anti-trafficking and child protection efforts in ADP.Just like World Vision, I believe that every single child is indeed a unique and precious “gift from God” and each one deserves a chance for a better life.  World Vision even makes it easy for you to stay in touch with your child. They will send you colorful cards and greetings throughout the year that you can send to your sponsored child. You’ll also receive updates and progress reports so you know how your gifts are changing the life of your child, their family and their entire community.

Bogia WASH ProjectIf this is something you feel called to do, if you’re still searching for your New Year’s Resolution, it would mean the world to me if you would sponsor one of my kids! Click on the link below to join me as a sponsor & LET’S CHANGE THE WORLD ONE CHILD AT A TIME!

http://donate.worldvision.org/sponsorchild/worldwide/?CST=ALL&campaign=2201670

P.S.  I will have something very exclusive and special planned for each of you who sponsor one of my kids through WORLD VISION this year!

Christmas 2012 Vertical Front copyJESUS said….

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

“Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?  When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you?  When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

“The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me.’   Mathew 25:35-45

WV Logo_legal_tagJOIN THE WORLD VISION REVOLUTION!

https://www.facebook.com/worldvision

http://twitter.com/worldvisionusa

http://blog.worldvision.org/

http://www.youtube.com/worldvisionusa

Published in: on January 9, 2013 at 3:27 pm  Comments (16)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://barbedwirehalo.wordpress.com/2013/01/09/my-new-years-resolution-revolution-world-vision/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

16 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I love reading your blog, but this one stood out more than others. The ending really hit me in a special place. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with all of us. Your outtake on our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ is amazing and shows everyone the kind of faith we need to all have.

    P.S. beautiful family!

  2. I have been following your blog and your fb page for a few moths now and I have to tell you it’s your love for the Lord and your sweet family that makes you my favorite country artist!!
    I read the book you refer to a few years back and it was life changing for me as well.
    Thank you for being an artist that is bold about your love for Jesus!
    Much love,
    The Trammell Family

  3. Bless you for spreading the love of Christ. Many people wouldn’t knows out Gods love if you didn’t tell them. We already have 2 boys through another amazing organization but I hope and pray many of your followers will step up. Blessings

  4. Done… sponsoring Stephenye… I love World Vision and am glad you brought it to the front and center….

    Thanks for all you do!!!

  5. Dear Aaron Watson Family … my heart is with you…there is nothing else i can say….I cannot imagine how you were on that stage, in Vicenza that night of July, when we met the first time… with this heavy heart… God is in control, in every situation…He needed an Angel and your little baby girl is with Him …. may God gives keeps giving you the strengh and the faith ya’ll have … For me and my little girl kelly (your bigger fan!) we love you … See you at your next concert 🙂
    God bless you Watson Family!
    Doris Brazzale Hovis
    (the Italian moved to Texas) 🙂

  6. Thank you Aaron for introducting me to Harutyun he is a 9 yr old living in Armenia. Can’t wait to learn more about him. I’ve always wanted to be a foster parent. My birthday, and daddy’s (my superman) is next week and can’t think of a better gift to give myself and daddy would have loved him too.

  7. Thank you Aaron for introducing us to Mihran, our new child from Armenia. We have wanted to sponsor for so long and just never did. Your blog struck a chord in our hearts that this the time. Thank you so much for not being ashamed to share your faith. GOD BLESS you and the Watson family.

  8. Me and my husband for the past year have been sponsoring a little girl in Africa. I love getting the cards and things to send her. I wouldn’t think twice about doing it again. ❤

  9. I would love to help out and sponser someone, maybe some day soon!

  10. Hi,

    I have a quick question about your blog, do you think you could e-mail me?

    Heather

  11. I absolutely loved this post! I have been blessed to travel to some of these poverty stricken areas (Ecuador in 2009&China in 2010) to share te love of Christ and witnessed these poor babies living in conditions I could never imagine. It broke my heart. It still does. I came home realizing we live in Disney World! We are so blessed to live in the conditions in the US that we do. I have been unemployed now for six months due to knee issues followed by surgery, however, I am definitely going to pray that if God wills for me to take part in this whether it be now, or later this year, that he would give me the financial means! My boyfriend and I were just talking Sunday after church and a couple days before that too how we wish we could do more to make a difference in others lives! Maybe this is something he and I could do together! I’m so thankful that there are godly men in texas country such as you that have such a heart full of compassion! It is very encouraging! Especially having grown up around the music business and having seen all the terrible things I have. We need more good men like you to set the standard and example! Can’t wait to see you at Rockin Rodeo Thursday! Better play Fast Cars, Slow Kisses for me!! Xoxo.

  12. Thank you for your passion for the gospel and for your dedication to your music. Both are refreshing and inspiring. I wish you all the continued success in the world. My brother is adopted so reading this post and seeing your passion for all God’s children brought a smile to my face.

    Here’s to seeing you on the road. When the road brings you up here to michigan so I can have you autograph all 6 of your cds 😉

    Jason

  13. Thank you for this great post, your heart for the gospel and your passion for your music. My brother is from columbia so this one hit home even more. Keep up the great work. Hope to see you out on the road someday, (preferably up here in mi!) And you can autogrpah all your cds:)

    Blessings,

    Jason

  14. It’s been over a year since your last blog entry…I was really enjoying reading about your family, and as tough as it was to read, about your beautiful Julia. I admire your family and your faith, and I’d love to hear the rest of her story.

    Much of what you said in your posts about Julia and your journey with her really hit close to home. My mom is battling liver cancer and while I know it isn’t the same, we know we may be sayig goodbye sooner rather than later. It really touched me deeply when you said (paraphrasing here), “God will heal her. It may not be the way in which I’d like, but she will be healed.” ♡

    THANK YOU from someone you’ve touched deeply with your words.


Leave a Reply

